CRX Performance Forums

Home of the CRX elders.
It is currently Sat Oct 25, 2014 10:42 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: "bouncing idle"
Posted: Sun Nov 04, 2007 11:31 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2007 7:10 pm
Posts: 317
Location: Lancaster, PA
so when my enigne is warming up on idle it goes up and down by like a 1,000 rotations. I put new vacume lines on and it still does it and I cleaned off the prongs for the idle positioning sensor. Whats my problem? Can I just buy a new tps or somthin?

_________________
Top ten reasons why I procrastinate:

1.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: As dumb as this might sound...
Posted: Sun Nov 04, 2007 11:44 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2007 11:58 am
Posts: 44
As dumb as this might sound, when I pulled the motor last time in my car, I somehow misadjusted the throttle cable at teh throttle body, and had the same problem. It was almost like hunting up and down from about 1200-2200rpm give or take. I'm guessing this isn't the case there but the cable could be bound or misadjusted if you've been in there like I was with mine. If not, good luck maybe others have a different theory.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Posted: Sun Nov 04, 2007 11:47 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2007 7:10 pm
Posts: 317
Location: Lancaster, PA
well I have adjusted it so it runs at a bit higher RPM, could that be my problem? but I do know it was doing that before I adjusted it so prolly not.

_________________
Top ten reasons why I procrastinate:

1.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Posted: Sun Nov 04, 2007 11:54 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2003 11:15 am
Posts: 1992
Purge your cooling system of air. Do this on a moderate incline if necessary.

Janos


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Posted: Sun Nov 04, 2007 11:58 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2007 7:10 pm
Posts: 317
Location: Lancaster, PA
ok well I do have an idea. On the DX modles they have throttle body fuel injection, wich means I still have a choke and stuff on the throttle body. Would I be able to pull the throttle position sensor and the choke postion sensor off and just run a cable out to the choke for cold start ups? because all the sensors do is regulate idle right? so I could just adjust the thottle cable to the desired rpm and choke cable to desired choke.

ps I did rid the anti-freeze of air.

_________________
Top ten reasons why I procrastinate:

1.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Posted: Sun Nov 04, 2007 10:02 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 30, 2003 3:18 pm
Posts: 822
Location: In a land down under...
Google "Honda EACV IACV FITV" and read...

:wink:

_________________
Time flies like an arrow.
Fruit flies like a banana!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Posted: Sun Nov 04, 2007 10:04 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 30, 2003 10:32 am
Posts: 2200
Location: 90220
Yeah its probably what Brett says. One of those little dodads that bolts on to the intake manifold is clogged up with crap.

_________________
2.5 skyactiv thing and..
more chryco 8v turbo things than I should have.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Posted: Mon Nov 05, 2007 6:26 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 31, 2003 10:07 pm
Posts: 1075
Location: Newark, DE
generallee01 wrote:
Would I be able to pull the throttle position sensor and the choke postion sensor off and just run a cable out to the choke for cold start ups?
There's no choke position sensor. That upper plate in the throttle body is know as the tandem valve... It may look similar, but it doesn't serve the same function as the choke in a carb. It's simply there to deflect air over the nozzle of the upper fuel injector when the engine isn't drawing much air. The point being to improve the mixing of air and fuel, not to richen the mix as a choke does.

generallee01 wrote:
because all the sensors do is regulate idle right?
No, the ECU (engine control unit - the fuel injection and ignition timing computer) uses the TPS signal to judge engine load and when to cut fuel while coasting. If you pull the TPS off the throttle body, the ECU will likely throw an error code, and you probably won't be able to rev the engine over 1500 RPM or so.


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject:
Posted: Tue Nov 06, 2007 6:03 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2007 7:10 pm
Posts: 317
Location: Lancaster, PA
ok well thanks for all the help. yesterday I took off the IACV and cleaned that out good, it was really junked up inside. I could notice a difference right as I started it up, ran really smooth. thanks again.

_________________
Top ten reasons why I procrastinate:

1.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: bouncing idle..
Posted: Wed Nov 14, 2007 5:23 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2007 3:46 am
Posts: 19
well i cleaned my i.a.c valve. and it's still doing the same thing.. but now the idle is from 1,00 to about 1,500. my guess it's my fuel pump.. could i be wrong?? i hear the electrical sound of my pump.. could the b my first clue??


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Posted: Wed Nov 14, 2007 3:58 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2007 7:10 pm
Posts: 317
Location: Lancaster, PA
Brett wrote:
Google "Honda EACV IACV FITV" and read...


this pretty much says it all, the first page that came up for me had more than enough to figure it out.

_________________
Top ten reasons why I procrastinate:

1.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group